Tags

, ,

As Rebel Diaz said “music is resistance, it’s the voice of the poor“, here are a selection of songs, to inspire, enlighten, entertain, sooth a broken heart and steel your nerves for the 3-year challenge that lay ahead.

Language warning

artist: Candi Staton – song: Best Thing You Ever Had
genre: soul, RnB – year 1972

sample lyrics:
I hope you are happy / With your new love / I hope she brings you joy
Into your world / But just leave on baby / Time is gonna prove I was the best thing you ever had / I know I was

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GeBDbaPRv3M

artist: Bruce Springsteen – song: No Surrender
genre: classic rock – year 1984

sample lyrics:
Well, we made a promise we swore we’d always remember / No retreat, baby, no surrender
Like soldiers in the winter’s night / With a vow to defend /
No retreat, baby, no surrender

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MD3DdskaPhs

artist: Lily Allen – song: Fuck You (Very Much)
genre: Britpop – year 2009

sample lyrics:
So you say / It’s not okay to be gay / Well I think you’re just evil / You’re just some racist who can’t tie my laces / Your point of view is medieval

Fuck you / Fuck you very, very much / Cause we hate what you do / And we hate your whole crew / So please don’t stay in touch

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=OK4fJhbRL1g

artist: Gil Scott-Heron – song: B-Movie
genre: funk, poetry – year 1981

sample lyrics:
Well, the first thing I want to say is: Mandate my ass!

The idea concerns the fact that this country wants nostalgia.
They want to go back as far as they can – even if it’s only as far as last week.
Not to face now or tomorrow, but to face backwards.

Civil rights, women’s rights, gay rights: …it’s all wrong.
Call in the cavalry to disrupt this perception of freedom gone wild.
God damn it, first one wants freedom, then the whole damn world wants freedom.

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=sLtRHN7fsgY

artist: Ani DiFranco – song: ¿Which Side Are You On?
genre: folk, alternative – year 2012
reworked lyrics from Florence Reece

sample lyrics:
They stole a few elections / Still we the people won
We voted out corruption and Big corporations

We voted for an end to war / New direction
We ain’t gonna stop now / Until our job is done

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=UyMGH3maB1U

artist: Christina Aguilera – song: Fighter
genre: pop, soul – year 2002

sample lyrics:
Makes me that much stronger / Makes me work a little bit harder
It makes me that much wiser / So thanks for making me a fighter
Made me learn a little bit faster / Made my skin a little bit thicker
Makes me that much smarter / So thanks for making me a fighter

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=PstrAfoMKlc

artist: Dropkick Murphys – song: Worker’s Song
genre: Celtic punk – year 2003
lyrics: Ed Pickford

sample lyrics:
We’re the first ones to starve, we’re the first ones to die / The first ones in line for that pie-in-the-sky / And we’re always the last when the cream is shared out / For the worker is working when the fat cat’s about

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=AQfGTDyjVSE

artist: Billy Bragg & Wilco – song: All You Fascists
genre: indi, folk rock – year 1997
lyrics: Woody Guthrie

sample lyrics:
I’m gonna tell all you fascists you may be surprised
The people in this world are getting organized
You’re bound to lose, you fascists are bound to lose

You’re bound to lose! you fascists! / Bound to lose

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=wyjNRmSPVMM

artist: Frenzal Rhomb – song: You Can’t Move Into My House
genre: pop punk – year 1997

sample lyrics:
I’d rather eat a fridge full of arses than know you / And I’ve tried with all my might to see past / all your failings but I’ve failed to give a fuck
You’re a fuck-up, you’re a joke / You’re a clown, take your pants down,
Get fucked you fucking fuckwit / no you can’t move into my house.

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=8zkMNa0Xi5I

artist: Pat Benatar – song: Hit Me With Your Best Shot
genre: classic rock – year 1980
lyrics: Eddie Schwartz

sample lyrics:
You come on with a come on, you don’t fight fair / But that’s O.K., see if I care! / Knock me down, it’s all in vain / I’ll get right back on my feet again!

Hit Me With Your Best Shot! / Why Don’t You Hit Me With Your Best Shot!
Hit Me With Your Best Shot! / Fire Away!

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=zRbXMWYMNno

artist: Gloria Gaynor – song: I Will Survive
genre: disco, soul – year 1978
lyrics: Dino Fekaris, Freddie Perren

sample lyrics:
Did you think I’d crumble? Did you think I’d lay down and die?

Oh, no, not I, I will survive / Oh, as long as I know how to love, I know I’ll stay alive / I’ve got all my life to live, I’ve got all my love to give / And I’ll survive, I will survive,

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tth-8wA3PdY‎

artist: Cold Chisel – song: You Got Nothing I Want
genre: Aussie, classic rock – year 1981

sample lyrics:
You got nothing I want / You got nothing I need

I don’t want to see you again / I don’t want you for a friend
I don’t want you hanging around / I don’t mind just putting you down.

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZXpqhXSDrE

artist: Public Image Ltd – song: Rise
genre: post punk – year 1986
lyrics: John Lydon, Bill Laswell

sample lyrics:
Anger is an energy / Anger is an energy
Anger is an energy
Anger is an energy

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=zN-GGeNPQEg

artist: Gary Clail and The On-U Sound System – song: These Things Are Worth Fighting For
genre: dub, electronic – year 1993

sample lyrics:
and I hear a voice within me roar /
One law for the rich, and another for the poor
No longer
One law for the rich, and another for the poor
It’s unacceptable

Honesty, dignity, self-respect, worth fighting for
I hope, I hope, I hope, I hope for so much more

To unite for justice and equality for all
These things are worth fighting for

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IUeRZZdHHIc

artist: Beast – song: Mr Hurricane
genre: rock – year 2008

sample lyrics:
I thought I was a victim / That people hated me
Can you imagine livin’ one more day / With a beast right up in your face

(Broke out of the harness) / Let it go let it go
(Crumbled in the darkness) / Turn on the light ya’ll
(Overcame the madness) / Then take your pills
(Finally righteous) / I love the beast ya’ll

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=0eHaps3Ykqk‎

artist: Cee Lo Green – song: F**k You / Forget You
genre: funk, soul – year 2010

sample lyrics:
and I’m like / “FUCK YOU!”
Ooo,ooo,oooo
I guess the change in my pocket wasn’t enough
I’m like / “FUCK YOU!
And fuck her too.”
I said,
“If I was richer, I’d still be with ya”
Ha, now ain’t that some shit?
(Ain’t that some shit?)
And although there’s pain in my chest
I still wish you the best
With a…
“FUCK YOU!”
Ooo,ooo,ooo

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=6pdKv0bUXDk

artist: Fleetwood Mac – song: Don’t Stop
genre: classic rock – year 1977

sample lyrics:
If you wake up and don’t want to smile / If it takes just a little while / Open your eyes and look at the day,
You’ll see things in a different way.
Don’t stop, thinking about tomorrow,
Don’t stop, it’ll soon be here,
It’ll be, better than before,
Yesterday’s gone, yesterday’s gone.

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=a8arvEzHsA8‎

artist: Alanis Morissette – song: Right Through You
genre: alternative rock – year 1995

sample lyrics:
Hello Mr. Man
You didn’t think I’d come back
You didn’t think I’d show up with my army
And this ammunition on my back
Now that I’m Miss Thing / Now that I’m a zillionaire
You scan the credits for your name
And wonder why it’s not there

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=CWLsHFBxhNo

artist: Michael Franti & Spearhead – song: Hey World (Remote Control Version)
genre: funk, hip hop – year 2008

sample lyrics:
You got to let go of remote control
You got to let go of remote control

Hey world, you know you got to put up a fight
Hey world, you rumble in the jungle tonight
Hey world, keep bringing it the rest of your life
You got to put up a fight, you got to put up a fight

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=DIFO-QkRqRk

artist: Dixie Chicks – song: Not Ready To Make Nice
genre: country pop – year 2006

sample lyrics:
I’m not ready to make nice
I’m not ready to back down
I’m still mad as hell and
I don’t have time to go round and round and round
It’s too late to make it right
I probably wouldn’t if I could
‘Cause I’m mad as hell
Can’t bring myself to do what it is you think I should

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=pojL_35QlSI‎

artist: The Clash – song: Know Your Rights
genre: punk, classic rock – year 1982

sample lyrics:
This is a public service announcement / With guitar
Know your rights

You have the right to freeeee
Speech as long as you’re not
Dumb enough to actually try it.
Know your rights

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=bL0CCphgmZ8

artist: Rage Against The Machine – song: Settle For Nothing
genre: alternative rock – year 20

sample lyrics:
If we don’t take action now / We settle for nothing later
Settle for nothing now / And we’ll settle for nothing later
If we don’t take action now / We settle for nothing later
We’ll settle for nothing now / And we’ll settle for nothing later

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuGwk0VDYYQ

artist: Pretty Girls Make Graves – song: Parade
genre: alternative indie rock – year 2006

sample lyrics:
Mutiny!
Strike!
We’ve walked so far
But we can walk all night
We’re marching from the shipyards
We’re marching from the hospitals
We’ll take it to the town hall
We’ll take it to the capitol

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=t–RbRIWBk0

artist: Leela James – song: A Change Is Gonna Come
genre: neo-soul, RnB – year 2005
lyrics: Sam Cooke

sample lyrics:
There’s been times that I thought
I wouldn’t last for long (naww)
But somehow / I think I’m able to carry on

It’s been a long
a long time coming
but I know, I know a change is gonna come
Oooh yes you will

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=qz3l37OocG8

artist: Nancy Sinatra – song: These Boots Are Made For Walkin’
genre: 60s classic rock, pop – year 1966
lyrics: Lee Hazlewood

sample lyrics:
You keep lying, when you oughta be truthin’
and you keep losin’ when you oughta not bet.
You keep samin’ when you oughta be a changin’.
Now what’s right is right, but you ain’t been right yet.

These boots are made for walking, and that’s just what they’ll do
one of these days these boots are gonna walk all over you.

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbyAZQ45uww‎

artist: ALP ad – song: It’s Time
genre: – year 1972

sample lyrics:
Time for freedom,
Time for moving, Time to be clear,
Yes Its time

Time Australia,
Time for moving, Its time for proving,
Yes Its time

Time for better,
Come together, Its time to move,
Yes Its time

Time to stand up,
Time to shout it, Time, Time, Time,
Yes Its time

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DxQKeYqB778

artist: L7 – song: Shitlist
genre: riot grrl, grunge – year 1992

sample lyrics:
When I get mad / And I get pissed
Shitlist
I grab my pen / And write out a list
Shitlist
Of all you assholes / Who won’t be missed
Shitlist
You’ve made my shitlist
You’ve made my shitlist

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=AkmLpTXbNDQ‎

artist: Kim Carnes – song: Crazy in the Night (Barking at Airplanes)
genre: 80s soft rock – year 1985

sample lyrics:
Sometimes I really think I’m going crazy in the night
When I hide down in the covers and I won’t turn out the light
I think nothing’s gonna get to me but then again it might
What can I do to keep from going crazy in the night?

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=m9OSuy4e4HU

artist: Pat Benatar – song: Invincible
genre: classic rock – year 1985

sample lyrics:
This shattered dream you cannot justify.
We’re gonna scream until we’re satisfied.
What are we running for? We’ve got the right to be angry.
What are we running for when there’s nowhere we can run to anymore?
We can’t afford to be innocent / Stand up and face the enemy.
It’s a do or die situation – we will be invincible.
And with the power of conviction there is no sacrifice.
It’s a do or die situation – we will be invincible.

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=drSCtseoNxQ‎

artist: The Nightwatchman: Tom Morello – song: Union Song
genre: alternative rock – year 2011

sample lyrics:
For Joe Hill and Cesar Chavez
Who fought in their own time
For our brothers and our sisters
Up and down that picket line
For the unnamed and unnumbered
Who struggle brave and long
For the union men and women
Standing up and standing strong

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=a5ZT71DxLuM

artist: Rebel Diaz – song: Which Side Are You On?
genre: revolutionary hip hop – year 20?

sample lyrics:
Myspace and facebook, they got us stuck on computers
Stuck on stupid bumpin’ music that’s abusive to the shorties
And the nonsense that you spittin’, they just listen and absorb it
I’ve been dormant, I’ve awoken, I’m a giant, I’m ready

For the culture, the life, what it really stands for
This music is resistance, it’s the voice of the poor

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Dr05tXktSo

ride of the valkyries

*bonus
artist: Wagner – song: Ride of the Valkyries
genre: classical – year 1851

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=V92OBNsQgxU

(embedded videos make WordPress buggy and slow, so have included links to Youtube;
online radios, such as Spotify or Last.fm require log ins or subscriptions, and haven’t been linked to)

