With the mainstream media trying its hardest to either ignore or explain away why Tony Abbott and his front bench are entitled to rort the taxpayer, this weeks post is looking at songs about money.

– Language warning –

Take The Money And Run
Might sound familiar to anyone who listened to classic rock radio during the 70s and 80s, Steve Miller gave permission for the use of his song, and got paid. The new version (and the original) follow the story of a couple who steal themselves some money and then go on the run.

artist: Run-DMC, Everlast, Steve Miller Band – genre: old school, hip hop, classic rock – year 2001 –
sample lyrics:

C’mon take the money and run
C’mon take the money and run
C’mon take the money and run
hey, hey, hey

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pTr-BH1Dl_s

The Hardest Part
Tells the story of a bank heist.

artist: Blondie – genre: new wave, 80s – year 1980 – Writer(s): Chris Stein, Debbie Harry
sample lyrics:

No short heist, no overnight,
big money, take you to Brazil

Ooh, I need to feel some hardened steel,
deliver the big money deal

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vEjCDriXwnI

Money (That’s What I Want)
A song about someone wanting money, lots of it and demanding it.

artist: The Flying Lizards – genre: post punk, experimental – year 1979 – Writer(s): Janie Bradford / Berry Gordy
sample lyrics:

I want money
I want lots of money
In fact I want so much money
Give me your money
Just give me money

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E-P2qL3qkzk

It’s Money That I Love
A song about loving money and all the things that it can buy.

artist: Randy Newman – genre: piano, pop – year 1979 – Writer(s): Randy Newman
sample lyrics:

And I don’t love Jesus
He never done a thing for me

It’s Money That I Love
It’s Money That I Love

Used to worry about the poor
But I don’t worry anymore

It’s Money That I Love
It’s Money That I Love

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rQ_4ss9v7Z4

The Fun Lovin’ Criminal
Tells about the criminals, who love money and living the high life.

artist: Fun Lovin’ Criminals – genre: funk, alternative rock – year 1996 – Writer(s): Fun Lovin’ Criminals
sample lyrics:

One, two, three and I come with the redneck style
Because you know I get paid by the mile

Stick ’em up punk, it’s the Fun Lovin’ Criminal
Means with the green, murder on your spleen
Living in a dream do you know what I mean

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1AVTjHlRiP4

Disclaimer: Fun Lovin’ Criminals is the name of the artist, this is not, absolutely, unequivocally, totally NOT, a comment on what Tony Abbott has done with our tax-pauper money.

Rich Girl
About a girl dreaming of all the things she could do if she was a rich girl, all the things she could buy, things she could own.

artist: Gwen Stefani feat. Eve – genre: pop, rock – year 2004 – Writer(s): Mark Batson, Jerry Bock, Kara DioGuardi, Mike Elizondo, Eve, Sheldon Harnick, Chantal Kreviazuk, Gwen Stefani, Andre Young; an adaptation of the Fiddler on the Roof song “If I Were a Rich Man” by Sheldon Harnick and Jerry Bock
sample lyrics:

If I was rich girl (na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na nah)
See, I’d have all the money in the world, if I was a wealthy girl
No man could test me, impress me, my cash flow would never ever end
Cause I’d have all the money in the world, if I was a wealthy girl

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9rlNpWYQunY

No Banker Left Behind
Written in response to the Wall Street bailouts, and no matter how bad an economy, no matter how dire the budget emergency, the rich and over-entitled are always taken care of first.

artist: Ry Cooder – genre: blues, folk – year 2011 – Writer(s):
sample lyrics:

And the afternoon was sunny and the weather it was fine
They counted out our money and no banker was left behind

No banker no banker no banker could I find
When the train pulled out next morning no banker was left behind

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LxaY_mxYflg

Gold Digger
From the perspective man who is telling other men to watch out for the women who just want men for what they can buy her. However, in the end, the man is just going to leave her for someone else.

artist: Kanye West feat. Jamie Foxx – genre: hip hop, RnB – year 2005 – Writer(s): Kanye West, Ray Charles, Renald Richard
sample lyrics:

She take my money when I’m in need
Yeah she’s a trifling friend indeed
Oh she’s a gold digger way over town
That digs on me

Now I ain’t sayin’ she a gold digger (when I’m in need)
But she ain’t messin’ with no broke …

Now I ain’t saying you’re a gold digger you got needs

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vwNcNOTVzY

Two Little Girls From Little Rock
From the movie ‘Gentlemen Prefer Blondes’ starring Monroe and Russell, and their quest to marry, the Blonde for money, the brunette for love.

artist: Marilyn Monroe, Jane Russell – genre: showtunes, old Hollywood – year 1953 – Writer(s): Leo Robin, Ken Darby, Eliot Daniel
sample lyrics:

I was young and determined, to be wined and dined and ermined
and I worked at it all around the clock.

Though I never did learn to read or write,
I learned about love in the pale moonlight

I learned an awful lot in Little Rock,
and here’s some advice I’d like to share:
find a gentleman who is shy or bold,
or short or tall, or young or old…
as long as the guy’s a millionaire!

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wV4CMmlR1X0

‘Cuz I Can
It’s the bling, the pointless consumerism, the boasting and bragging, the breaking the rules, because of how much money is in the pocket.

artist: P!nk – genre: pop, rock – year 2007 – Writer(s): Alecia Moore, Max Martin, Lukasz Gottwald
sample lyrics:

So I’ll cash my cheques and place my bets
And hope I’ll always win
Even if I don’t I’m fucked because
I live a life of sin
But it’s alright
I don’t give a damn
I don’t play your rules I make my own
Tonight
I’ll do what I want
Cuz I can

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZGi1j5W6AI

Steal Money
A Brisbane band, their song is about theft, corporatism, and all the benefits that money can bring.

artist: – genre: electropop, indie – year 2012 –
sample lyrics:

I don’t have to work for money
Never an inch
You tell me now I’ve got nothing
But girl I’m rich

Keep the spotlight on me (spotlight on me)
I’ll steal all your money (all your money)
I’ll save my revenue (revenue)
But I won’t spend it on you (on you)

They get richer, you get poorer
Economics is fun
They’ll sneak in and steal your shit
It’s easy coz you’re dumb

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=szMSFtgbbbA

Son Of A Scoundrel
From the 1970 Ned Kelly movie soundtrack, starring Mick Jagger.

artist: Kris Kristofferson – genre: outlaw, country – year 1970 Writer(s): Shel Silverstein
sample lyrics:

With buckets of loot and big black leather boots
Acting so haughty and well-born

But we of Australia, we’re children of convicts
And some of us wear it quite proudly
So as he rides by in his carriage so fine
I wave and I call to him loudly

Was your grandma a whore, was your grandpa a thief
Were they forgers and grafters who fell to their grief

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZvo7zKozdQ

Did You Steal My Money

artist: The Who – genre: classic rock, British – year 1981 Writer(s): Pete Townshend
sample lyrics:

Did you steal it
Did you screw me
Did you peel it
Did you do me

Did you know that poor old veteran
That you kicked out of his bed
Says that he cannot forget you
But he does not wish you dead

Did you pinch my brasso
Nick my gelt you asshole

Did You Steal My Money?

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hbweqz1BDQE

Yell Fire
Franti talks the Wall Street banksters who will fill their pockets while the poor suffer, and how consumerism is lulling us in a coma of apathy to never want to change that.

artist: Michael Franti and Spearhead – genre: – year 2006 Writer(s): Carl Young, Dave Shul, Michael Franti
sample lyrics:

Spend it all today and we will bill you tomorrow
Three piece suits and bank accounts in Bahamas
Wall street crime will never send you to the slammer

watch: Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dh-8mw9MKbQ

Can’t Buy Me Love
Paul McCartney said “The idea behind it was that all these material possessions are all very well, but they won’t buy me what I really want”.

artist: The Beatles – genre: classic, 60s, pop – year 19 Writer(s): Lennon–McCartney
sample lyrics:

Say you don’t need no diamond ring and I’ll be satisfied
Tell me that you want the kind of thing that money just can’t buy
I don’t care too much for money, money can’t buy me love

Can’t buy me love, love
Can’t buy me love

watch: Youtube www.youtube.com/watch?v=venzPNvge18‎

